Home .: General Info .: History


The Department of Information Management of Hacettepe University was founded in 1972 by Professor İlhan Kum under the name of "Institute of Librarianship and Documentation". The first graduate program of the Institute was prepared, under the chairmanship of Prof. Kum, by the teaching faculty comprising professors Nilüfer Tuncer, Adil Artukoğlu, Thomas Minder, Benjamin Whitten and Phyllis Lepon Erdoğan.

The Department of Librarianship of Hacettepe University accepted its first undergraduate students in October 1974. The Department differed from other similar programs in that students completed a year-long English language courses before they started their four-year undergraduate program. The curriculum of the undergraduate program was revised in 1978/1979, 1983/1984 and 1990/1991 academic years. Morever, it was restructured in 1993 so as to form three divisions, namely, Librarianship, Archiving, and Documentation and Information. While the Department offered its undergraduate courses under the new structure between 1994 and 2000, master's and Ph.D. degrees during this period were granted only in the Division of Librarianship as part of the Institute of Social Sciences.

As per the decision of the Higher Education Council in 2002, the divisions of Librarianship, Archiving, and Documentation and Information at the Departments of Librarianship were merged and the Department of Librarianship was renamed as the "Department of Information and Records Management" with a new curriculum. The names of the graduate degrees offered by the Department have also been changed in the 2006/2007 academic year.

Hacettepe Universty Department of Information Management 06800 Beytepe Ankara
Last Modified : 18.10.2016
Web Designer : Specialist Faik Demirbaş